RECORDS ARE PUBLISHED REGULATORY ACTIONS. FIELDS THE ISSUING AUTHORITY DID NOT PUBLISH ARE MARKED AS NOT STATED, NEVER FILLED IN.
Drug Eye AfricaNational Actions, Continental Reach
Register / Uganda / DEA-UG-2025-48246675
National Drug Authority · Uganda
DEA-UG-2025-48246675
Tier 1 · Regulator-publishedUnclassifiedScheduling changeStatus · active
Issuing authority
National Drug Authority (NDA)
Authority reference
Not stated by the issuing authority
Date issued
04 Dec 2025The circulars page states no date. The month shown is when the document was uploaded to the Authority's website, which is not the date the Authority acted; that date is inside the PDF.
Recorded by us
2026-09-09 18:49:17 UTC
Product
Paracetamol-containing oral solid dosage forms
INN / active substance
Paracetamol
Dosage form
Not stated by the issuing authority
Strength
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer country
Not stated by the issuing authority
MAH or importer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Batch numbers
Not published with the notice
Expiry dates
Not published with the notice
Action type
Scheduling change
Classification
Not stated by the issuing authority
Indicative severity
Not assessed by Drug Eye Africa
Defect category
Safety signal
Product type
Medicine
ATC code
Not stated by the issuing authority
Affected markets
Uganda — no market beyond the issuing country was named on the notice
Cross-border event
Not linked to a cross-border event
Notice text
The National Drug Authority (NDA) wishes to inform all Marketing Authorization Holders (MAHs) and Local Technical Representatives (LTRs) of the implementation of risk minimization measures for Paracetamol-containing oral formulations, following increasing health concerns regarding Paracetamol associated hepatotoxicity. All MAHs with currently registered products or products already undergoing registration that contain Paracetamol are hereby required to reformulate the affected products to comply with the revised maximum allowable strengths per dosage unit as stated below: 1. Single ingredient paracetamol should contain either 500 mg, 650 mg or 1000 mg per dosage unit. 2. Paracetamol-containing oral Fixed Dose Combinations (FDCs) with Opioids: not more than 325 mg per dosage unit. 3. Paracetamol-containing oral FDCs intended for management of cough, cold and flu symptoms: not more than 325 mg per dosage unit. 4. Paracetamol-containing oral FDCs for pain management: not more than 500 mg per dosage unit. For products that are already registered, Marketing Authorization Holders are required to undertake reformulation of the affected products to the acceptable Paracetamol strength limits within twenty-four (24) months from the date of this circular. During this transition period, the affected products may be maintained on the Drug Register, provided that all conditions for maintenance on the register continue to be met. At the end of the 24-month period, all products that remain non-compliant shall be subject to regulatory action.
Original language: en
Status
Active
Superseded by
Not superseded. This is the current version.
Version
8

Provenance

Verification tier 1

Where this record came from, and what is held to show it.

Copy of the source
Taken and held by Drug Eye Africa, so the record survives the link above being moved or withdrawn. Not yet published at an address you can open.
Ask us for it and check it against the fingerprint below.
Fingerprint
790df7ba8fffc30d36a427365b8c688a31fd8ab906aed41f0e817637d2718bf7
SHA-256 of the copy held. Any file that produces this number is that copy, byte for byte; any file that does not is a different document.
Copy taken
2026-09-09 18:57:59 UTC

Related actions elsewhere

Same stated defect
ReferenceDateCtryProductBatchesActionClassSource
DEA-BW-2024-3968558928 Feb 2024BWSafety Concern- Acute Interstitial Nephritis asscoiated with Proton Pump Inhibitorssnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-UG-2024-5441319720 Feb 2024UGKetoconazole oral tabletsnone publishedDeregistrationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-BW-2023-2063213813 Mar 2023BWBedaquiline-containing regimenscardiac adverse eventsnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-BW-2023-1042400413 Mar 2023BWSuspected Adverse Drug Reactions of Angiotensin 11 converting enzyme inhibitors reported to BoMRAnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
Cite this record
Drug Eye Africa (2025). DEA-UG-2025-48246675: Paracetamol-containing oral solid dosage forms — Scheduling change, National Drug Authority. Register of African Regulatory Actions. https://drugeyeafrica.org/register/notice/ug/2025/dea-ug-2025-48246675

Version history

No version history recorded for this record.
Corrections appear here and in the site-wide log. Records are superseded, never deleted.

Verification

Tier 1Published by the issuing regulator on its own channel and captured by Drug Eye Africa, with the source document archived.

Indexing

This record is indexable: it is dated, names a product, and carries either a batch number or a stated reason.