RECORDS ARE PUBLISHED REGULATORY ACTIONS. FIELDS THE ISSUING AUTHORITY DID NOT PUBLISH ARE MARKED AS NOT STATED, NEVER FILLED IN.
Drug Eye AfricaNational Actions, Continental Reach
Register / Uganda / DEA-UG-2024-54413197
National Drug Authority · Uganda
DEA-UG-2024-54413197
Tier 1 · Regulator-publishedUnclassifiedDeregistrationStatus · active
Issuing authority
National Drug Authority (NDA)
Authority reference
Not stated by the issuing authority
Date issued
20 Feb 2024The circulars page states no date. The month shown is when the document was uploaded to the Authority's website, which is not the date the Authority acted; that date is inside the PDF.
Recorded by us
2026-09-09 18:49:17 UTC
Product
Ketoconazole oral tablets
INN / active substance
Ketoconazole
Dosage form
Not stated by the issuing authority
Strength
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer country
Not stated by the issuing authority
MAH or importer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Batch numbers
Not published with the notice
Expiry dates
Not published with the notice
Action type
Deregistration
Classification
Not stated by the issuing authority
Indicative severity
Not assessed by Drug Eye Africa
Defect category
Safety signal
Product type
Medicine
ATC code
Not stated by the issuing authority
Affected markets
Uganda — no market beyond the issuing country was named on the notice
Cross-border event
Not linked to a cross-border event
Notice text
The Authority concluded that the benefit-risk balance of oral Ketoconazole was negative because of high level of liver injury associated with the medicine and in view of the currently available alternative treatments, which are deemed safer. Oral ketoconazole is however also used in the treatment of Cushing's syndrome, and it has a positive benefit-risk balance for this indication, as there might not be satisfactory alternative treatments. In light of the above, the Authority resolved to withdraw the Marketing Authorisation for all oral Ketoconazole products with immediate effect, and to ensure continued access of patients with Cushing's syndrome to oral Ketoconazole, the medicine shall only be imported as special importations.
Original language: en
Status
Active
Superseded by
Not superseded. This is the current version.
Version
8

Provenance

Verification tier 1

Where this record came from, and what is held to show it.

Copy of the source
Taken and held by Drug Eye Africa, so the record survives the link above being moved or withdrawn. Not yet published at an address you can open.
Ask us for it and check it against the fingerprint below.
Fingerprint
8aae26ade63beacdea233b303db34df5e1a69b1c5d134c78b5ecc715e3815c9c
SHA-256 of the copy held. Any file that produces this number is that copy, byte for byte; any file that does not is a different document.
Copy taken
2026-09-09 18:56:47 UTC

Related actions elsewhere

Same stated defect
ReferenceDateCtryProductBatchesActionClassSource
DEA-UG-2025-4824667504 Dec 2025UGParacetamol-containing oral solid dosage formsnone publishedScheduling changeUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-BW-2024-3968558928 Feb 2024BWSafety Concern- Acute Interstitial Nephritis asscoiated with Proton Pump Inhibitorssnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-BW-2023-2063213813 Mar 2023BWBedaquiline-containing regimenscardiac adverse eventsnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
DEA-BW-2023-1042400413 Mar 2023BWSuspected Adverse Drug Reactions of Angiotensin 11 converting enzyme inhibitors reported to BoMRAnone publishedSafety communicationUnclassifiedTier 1 · Regulator-published
Cite this record
Drug Eye Africa (2024). DEA-UG-2024-54413197: Ketoconazole oral tablets — Deregistration, National Drug Authority. Register of African Regulatory Actions. https://drugeyeafrica.org/register/notice/ug/2024/dea-ug-2024-54413197

Version history

No version history recorded for this record.
Corrections appear here and in the site-wide log. Records are superseded, never deleted.

Verification

Tier 1Published by the issuing regulator on its own channel and captured by Drug Eye Africa, with the source document archived.

Indexing

This record is indexable: it is dated, names a product, and carries either a batch number or a stated reason.