RECORDS ARE PUBLISHED REGULATORY ACTIONS. FIELDS THE ISSUING AUTHORITY DID NOT PUBLISH ARE MARKED AS NOT STATED, NEVER FILLED IN.
Drug Eye AfricaNational Actions, Continental Reach
Register / Uganda / DEA-UG-2018-40370607
National Drug Authority · Uganda
DEA-UG-2018-40370607
Tier 1 · Regulator-publishedUnclassifiedPublic warningStatus · active
Issuing authority
National Drug Authority (NDA)
Authority reference
218/NDA/DPS/03/2018
Date issued
22 Mar 2018Read from the archived document: printed date '22nd March 2018', read from the scan by a person; the letter's own instruction says 'with immediate effect from the 22/3/2018'. The circulars page states no date, and the month shown as uploaded is when the file reached the Authority's website.
Recorded by us
2026-09-09 22:24:19 UTC
Product
Rabicid-IV (Rabeprazole Injection IP)
INN / active substance
Rabeprazole
Dosage form
Not stated by the issuing authority
Strength
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Manufacturer country
Not stated by the issuing authority
MAH or importer
Not stated by the issuing authority
Batch numbers
Not published with the notice
Expiry dates
Not published with the notice
Action type
Public warning
Classification
Not stated by the issuing authority
Indicative severity
Not assessed by Drug Eye Africa
Defect category
Unregistered
Product type
Medicine
ATC code
Not stated by the issuing authority
Affected markets
Uganda — no market beyond the issuing country was named on the notice
Cross-border event
Not linked to a cross-border event
Notice text
The purpose of this communication is to advise you to stop the selling and buying of Rabicid-IV a brand of Rabeprazole Injection IP (Indian Pharmacopeia) because it is not registered by NDA nor was it imported under a special importation permit into Uganda. Rabicid-IV is alleged to be manufactured by Pure & Cure Healthcare Pvt. Ltd. (A subsidiary of Akums Drugs & Pharmaceuticals Ltd.), Plot No. 26A-30, Sector-8A, I.I.E., SIDCUL, Haridwar-249 403, Uttarakhand. Please note that: 1. This drug is not registered in Uganda. 2. The manufacturer of the product is not certified by NDA. 3. No special importation permit was issued to any supplier in Uganda for the importation of this product. 4. NDA cannot guarantee the quality and safety of this product.
Original language: en
Status
Active
Superseded by
Not superseded. This is the current version.
Version
7

Provenance

Verification tier 1

Where this record came from, and what is held to show it.

Copy of the source
Taken and held by Drug Eye Africa, so the record survives the link above being moved or withdrawn. Not yet published at an address you can open.
Ask us for it and check it against the fingerprint below.
Fingerprint
b13057775a674b7d51ba1a5ea0b23644da2492c0da1790e35c8579e26a3345e1
SHA-256 of the copy held. Any file that produces this number is that copy, byte for byte; any file that does not is a different document.
Copy taken
2026-09-09 22:24:48 UTC
Cite this record
Drug Eye Africa (2018). DEA-UG-2018-40370607: Rabicid-IV (Rabeprazole Injection IP) — Public warning, National Drug Authority. Register of African Regulatory Actions. https://drugeyeafrica.org/register/notice/ug/2018/dea-ug-2018-40370607

Version history

No version history recorded for this record.
Corrections appear here and in the site-wide log. Records are superseded, never deleted.

Verification

Tier 1Published by the issuing regulator on its own channel and captured by Drug Eye Africa, with the source document archived.

Indexing

This record is indexable: it is dated, names a product, and carries either a batch number or a stated reason.

DEA-UG-2018-40370607 — Rabicid-IV (Rabeprazole Injection IP) · Drug Eye Africa